Changing Brokers

In the last 90 days in Mercer County, 382 listing contracts between seller and broker have expired.  More than ever, I am watching sellers change brokers or agents with the hope of having “better luck”.  Even some of my sellers have done so, while I have also listed other broker’s expired listings. 

What is most painful for me is to watch one of my former clients take their business elsewhere, then promptly give their agent a $20,000 price reduction or other substantive changes to help them get the house sold.  Like they heard that idea from their new agent for the first time.

What may be even more perplexing is watching sellers go from one agent to another and make absolutely no changes at all, truly believing that the fault is all on their former agent. It reminds me of a saying I heard years ago:

If I always do what I always did, I’ll always get what I always got.

Leave a Reply

