Duct Tape and Chewing Gum

Recently, I have had some very generous clients replace or repair big ticket items in their home while on the market, in order to make sure their buyer did not have the hassle or frustration of dealing with the expenses.  For example, one seller replaced his electric panel for $800. Another seller replaced their septic system for $14,000. And yet another seller replaced 4 windows to the tune of $1,800.  I sincerely was moved by their deeds.

On the other hand, I have watched as some sellers try to hold their home together with duct tape and chewing gum. Broken closet doors, appliances, and general disrepair should be corrected before the home goes on the market, not hidden.  Occasionally I have to remind sellers that (in some cases) I represent both the buyer and seller as a disclosed dual agent. This means I have to point out the chewing gum, or have the seller fix it.

Things which are hidden will always be exposed, either at the home inspection, during the walk-thru on closing day, or right after closing. Do the right thing.

One Response to Duct Tape and Chewing Gum

  1. Holding the house together with duct tape is just rediculous. It’s like the time I looked at a house where someone was washing dishes… who know they had a leaky faucet.

Leave a comment